Book of the Month

On My Bookshelf – January 2016

The Theme of the my year 2016 is ‘Making a Difference’ ( Check out my post Blogger with a Cause to know more) It only made sense that the first book on my Bookshelf be by somebody who has make a difference in somebody’s life already!

51lJn0uVAML._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_I came across this book ‘ The Promise of a Pencil’ by Adam Bruan accidently, when I was going through the Kindle store & I was very intrigued by the title itself & decided to pick it up.

The book is a New York Times Bestseller & is the story of how the author met a young boy begging on the streets of India, who after being asked what he wanted most in his life, simply answered – ‘A pencil’.

This apparently tiny looking request led to a staggering journey across many countries & eventually led to Adam leaving his prestigious job to establish ‘Pencils of promise’. He started with just $25, & this small looking step has grown by leaps 7 bounds & has resulted in the establishment of more than 250 schools across the world today. The book is his journey & how he managed to accomplish this amazing feat! How can you not want to read it!

I will do a review, once I am done reading the book.

Why not read the book with me?!

If you have read it already though, let me know how you liked it in the comments section below!

Looking forward to hearing from you!

Regards,

Arry.

 

2 thoughts on “On My Bookshelf – January 2016”

Leave a Reply

