Minimalism

If you had to move, what would you take?

inside-apartment-design-home-large

Hi guys,

I honestly think moving house has been a blessing in disguise for me, in my journey to becoming a Minimalist. I have been forced to have a good look at things I own & decide what stays & what goes.

I am trying to get rid of things that don’t bring me joy, than pack them & carry them all the way to my new apartment & clutter the new place.

If you have lived at a place for a long time, ( 14 years in my case ), you will obviously end up accumulating a lot of stuff. So decluttering all of it is not only going to be a lot of work, but also a time consuming affair. However once you are done with it, I can assure you it will be deeply satisfying.

As I go through my stuff &Β pack my bags, I think it is time to pause & reflect & really ask myself, ‘What is it that I really need’? ‘What is it that I really use’? ‘What is it that I really love’?

As I try & find my answers,Β I ask you. If you were to move today, what would you take with you? What is it that you really need? What is it that you really love? What is it that you really use?

Let me know in the comments section down below!

Regards,

Arpita

22 thoughts on “If you had to move, what would you take?”

  1. I cannot say anything on this to be very frank.
    But this much I can say that this post is an inspiration to people who move and migrate.
    And people move and migrate.
    Holding or Hoarding is human ingredient and one wants to posses, why, the answer may not be that convincing, but still….
    These days you get everything anywhere whenever so it matters.
    Arpita!
    You are moving?
    Let all good things come to YOU.
    Shiva

    Like

  2. I don’t know why I didn’t reply when I first saw this. But now my updated post tells our secret. In the end, the only things that really mattered were our photo collection of the first 30 years of our marriage. Fortunately, the last 10 years, I have the pictures digitized. I never did mention my computer and we often think if our house blows away, since it is on wheels, my computer is the main thing I would want salvaged!
    Here is post on minimalization from another blogger I follow which references sentimental items and children! I liked her idea on how to teach children how to “purge!” http://thenostufflife.blogspot.com/2015/10/things-are-not-relationships.html?spref=tw

    Like

  3. My husband, my son, my books and magazines, some clothes and necessities and my computer and phone…I am torn between being a hoarder and wanting to be a minimalist…I have learned to let go of things except those that have memories in them but I guess I will just keep the memories in my mind and heart than in our very small house. πŸ™‚ God bless to your transfer to a bigger house!

    Like

    1. I think every Minimalist starts as a hoarder! Honestly, I struggle with the objects which have memories. Honestly, keep them if you wish to, its all up to you.One thing I’ve learned is never force yourself & make yourself do something you don’t want to. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. My books, Diary and pen, Camera, Drawing pencils, mp3 player, ear plugs, My Jacket, Few Clothes, My bed and my backpack.

    I don’t even need a bed.. πŸ˜€
    M happy with all the other things.. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

  5. I too am going to be working on minimalising my material things. We have an 8×10 storage shed packed full of stuff we moved out of our house because we are selling it and living in it at the same time. We did not want to have a cluttered mess when people come to look. The problem is that if it is in storage, chances are that it is not that important. There are a few things such as art supplies that are important to my mission in life but I just get them out as needed and put them back when not needed. Everything else i have in there just is cluttering my life! Thanks for the post! Good luck with your move!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Thanks for your comment. Our agent who was helping us sell our house in fact advised us to do exactly what you did. Store stuff away, so that when a client comes in he gets to see more free space & it did help us. We sold our house in two since after storing our stuff away! I hope that works for you as well! Good Luck on your Minimizing Journey! I hope you will post about it! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. If everything goes according to plan (ha!) we should be moving in about 4 months. You have inspired me to start purging all the “stuff” in our current home. One of the most beautiful homes I have ever been in belongs to a good friend of mine. She only has things in her home that she loves. If she doesn’t enjoy it – it goes. You can tell when you visit. That is my goal for our new place. My husband is a hoarder though so I will probably have to have an intervention with him. πŸ˜‰ xo Whitney

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Congratulations, I hope it works out the way you want it to! Somehow there is always at least one hoarder in the house! For me its my mom! I hope you succeed with the intervention πŸ™‚ Will you be getting one of those houses you have been working on! I enjoy the posts a lot. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Thanks Arpita! I’m glad I’m not alone in the hoarder department. Your comment made me laugh because we are only working on one house but it looks and feels like much more, right?! And yes, we will be moving into that house. πŸ™‚ xo Whitney

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

