Minimalism

Minimalism – Books

books-colorful-harry-potter-large (1)

Hello Friends,

For me the biggest challenge when it comes to Minimalism was always going to be Books. I am a Book lover to the core! I read around 2-3 books a month on an average, so you can imagine the amount of books I must have accumulated. Some books, I’d get on read & return basis. But if I did enjoy the book a lot, I’d end up buying it & adding it to my collection.

I am somebody who prefers tackling the hardest tasks before the easy ones. So when it came to Minimalism, I started with Books! Marie Kondo in her Book, ‘Life Changing Magic of tidying Up” suggested that we should handle it all at once. But come on. It hard enough to give up things you really love. So I am going to say, don’t do anything drastic.

I have around 5 bookshelf’s in my house filled with books. In the first round I checked out all 5 bookshelf’s & took those books out that did not give me joy & I knew I was never going to read again & put it away in my give away pile & gave them away.

Another method I used when it came to selecting books to give away was, will I find a kindle version of the Book, should I ever wish to read the book again in the future. ( I have stopped getting Paper copies of Books, since I got myself a Kindle & get my e-books from Amazon now.)

I would repeat the same process once every week. I did not want to be in a hurry to give things away & wanted to take my own time, so that by the end of the process, I do not end up remorseful.

I am happy to report that I am down from 5 book shelf’s to about 2 book shelf’s of books. ( I am a Lawyer, & I do need a lot of reference books so can’t get rid of them, that limits my giving away )

Because I went about this process slowly, giving away a few books at a time, I could actually do it.Β I might get down to further reducing the Books I own eventually. This is just the start of things.

The reason I went with giving away of books in installments is that, If I were to give away my books all at once, well that would never happen. I’d probably have a breakdown or something & put all the books back.Β When you love something its going to be hard to part with it. And for me, Books are the only things I have free hand with when it comes to spending my money.

So my suggestion to you is, Take your time.

Somehow its the first give away that’s hard. It gets better the second time onward’s.

Another thing, ‘There is No Minimalism Police‘ which keeps a track of exactly how much is Minimalist enough. We can all have our own version of Minimalism.

Minimalism should basically be about keeping just about enough things. Things that you value. Keeping only the things that give you joy or have a utility value for you. You have a choice.

Do share with me in the comments section, how you guys tackle de-cluttering & Giving away things! Can’t wait to hear from you!

Regards,

Arpita.

32 thoughts on “Minimalism – Books”

  1. Leo Babauta written lot about zen habits and minimalism. Samul Beckett is master of this arts. I am a great fan of beckett. It is difficult get rid of books. After all what we are holding to our sou?

    Like

    1. I have read Leo Babuta, he writes really well. But for me TheMinimalists, were the greatest influence towards choosing the Minimalist Lifestyle. I love Books, I was so greatly attached to them. But I saw the futility in it & eventually let go of them.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I also read Marie Kondo’s book and this weekend, we’re going to start with clothes. But I don’t know what to do when it’s time to start with the books. I don’t want to give them away!!! hahaha. I have this excuse that I might be needing them someday even if I won’t. I know I have to give away some of them, and for me who always changes home address, it’s becoming more difficult to move when I have a huge collection of books which are heavy. Maybe I’ll follow your advice, to take my time. One book at a time…..

    Like

    1. Go slow my friend, giving away books is tough! But moving with them even more tough! first start with books you know you won’t ever read again, Then give away books that you have doubts about & know that they are available at an affordable price if you wish to buy them again! Do you own a kindle? If not I highly recommend you get it, you won’t ever have to give the e books away & they don’t occupy space!

      Like

  3. … I read one post that said that attachment bonds increase if we handle an object regularly … hence the difficulty giving books away. Has less to do with the content than appears.

    Like

  4. Oh dear. I hear you on giving books away. It can be difficult. I have a good collection of books I still haven’t read yet but want to. I also have a large tote full of books I plan on getting rid of. I’m tempted to take them to the book thrift store in order to get money or credit to get more books, LOL.

    I agree with you though that doing it in chunks is easier. I also have a lot of reference material I cannot get rid of because of the career information it gives. Thank goodness for ebooks though. They make it so much nicer! I love being able to have countless amount of books that fit in the space of an 8″ tablet.

    Congrats on cleaning out some of your shelves. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Ebooks are amazing & the best part is we don’t ever have to give them away. I buy so many books whenever i see them at a good price on Amazon, so I too have a lot of to-read books. Its such a cycle isn’t it, give away books only to buy more books! The challenges we book readers face lolzz Thank you so much for your comment! I loved your drawings πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. I was just like you with the “book accumulation problem”. Then I got a kindle. That is a good mid-ground now. I can stock all the books I want and not have the whole space problem.
    The only problem is I have to now go into book stores and be the creep who smells new books πŸ˜›

    Like

      1. That happened to me in the beginning. I would fall asleep 5 minutes into the ,listening to the audiobook. The key is to listen to it while you are doing something else. Like walking, cleaning, cooking or even alternate this to music sometimes. Hope this works for you!

        Like

  6. Books were a big problem for me, too. I brought 30 boxes of books with me when we moved. I don’t know what the heck I was thinking! I made a list of them and got rid of almost the whole lot. Then, little by little, the ones I really loved, I repurchased for the Kindle. I only have about 3 shelves of books left.

    Like

  7. You’re off to a great start! Congratulations! I may do a minimalist 2 blog and not be ashamed of our motorhome! It’s way more than I wanted or thought we needed. But we’re happy in it and there’s room for the grandsons!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! From the few pictures I have seen, It looked sooo good to me. Can’t wait for the part 2 post! Have you made it back safely yet? I read your update on your Travel page.

      Like

  8. To be honest, I don’t have much in the way of clutter anymore. I lost everything I had in a fire right after I moved to Florida.
    Danny got rid of everything when he sold his house.
    So we don’t have much clutter.
    When I comes to books. I don’t think you can ever have too many.
    I have learned though that if you don’t like a book …then there is no reason to keep it.
    I enjoyed your post.

    Like

  9. It’s a beautiful article πŸ™‚

    Being a lawyer you need so many reference books so you can’t get rid of them. I have seen lawyers in films and they have a jungle of books around them lol πŸ˜€

    I have shared this article on social media.

    Love and light ❀

    Anand πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

