Personal

A Loving Home!

Family

The other day, I was reading something written by Agatha Christi & came across this beautiful quote from her, where She writes, “One of the Luckiest things that can happen to you in life, is to have a happy childhood & a loving home‘.

Isn’t that so true?

I cannot stress enough on the importance of a good Home. It is not only the place where you are born, but also a place where you become yourself.

I am one of those lucky people who have had a happy childhood & had a loving home.I have the fondest memories from my childhood. Growing up, we were nine people living under the same roof. It was my grandparents, me, my parents, my dads older brother, his wife & their two daughters.

There was always laughter in the house. Birthdays, Anniversaries,  Festivals were celebrated happily with great enthusiasm together! There were always relatives, cousins, family friends visiting. It felt like a circus then but now when I reminisce, they have become my most fondest memories.

Family sharing meal

My parents were both working , tried their best to give me everything that I needed. I was always well looked after & very very Loved. The greatest gift I got from them was their complete attention when they were with me & the way they always had time for me.

Today, as a grown up, I don’t really remember the materialistic things I had growing up. But I remember every happy memory spent in the company of my family. The drives my dad used to take me on, when he taught me how to ride a cycle, when we got a fish tank or when we got a dog! I remember my mom taking me out for walks, getting drenched in the rain, playing Shopkeeper game with her! I remember mu Uncle buying us Coca Cola the first time it was introduced in India & our trips to a Family friends farm house. I remember the fights & loving times with my cousins! That is what I remember.

I hope when I have children of my own, I can give them what I was so blessed to have. I wish that for every child in the world. childhood

A happy & loved child will be a secure adult when he grows up.

Love is the greatest gift of all, especially the one that parents give their children, because it is the only form of love that is unconditional.

If there is one thing I know, it is, ‘A happy childhood lasts forever’.

16 thoughts on “A Loving Home!”

  1. ‘The greatest gift I got from them was their complete attention when they were with me & the way they always had time for me.’ – this acknowledgement is the greatest gift we can give to our parents, though they don’t expect it when they shower their unconditional love upon us & sacrifice many personal pleasures while raising us! Lovely post!
    -Yogesh.

    Like

  2. This was a wonderful post! You are so blessed! My family was small, my dad military so we moved a lot. So only saw relatives once a year. I wanted a big family but found a satisfying career and only made time for one child. My only child now has 2! But she waited too late so this is it for her. There is nothing more important than family!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Here,in India we normally have big families, so most of us are lucky to have lots of cousins & relatives around. It is I have so much respect for the Military & their families. It must have been touch moving around so much.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I didn’t know much else so it worked all right. But I was jealous when my best friend went to her grandma’s house every week!
        Our culture is missing out by not having our families more in tact!

        Like

  3. This is so great! I couldn’t agree more. I came from a very small family. I’m an only child and have no first cousins, and my second cousins weren’t close by so we never had large family gatherings like you experienced. I remember envying my school friends who came from big families. They always seemed to be having so much fun! Ok, that’s enough boo hoo-ing for me! I’m glad you had such a wonderful, happy childhood. You will be a great Mom someday! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think its about being from an Asian country. We usually have larger families & generations of the same family live together. In India, its kind of disrespectful to want to move out & have your own house. There will be lots of drama & tears from the older generations!
      Thank you so much, I do hope to be a good mom someday 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

